It’s the 1930s and India dreams of independence, but the British are clinging to power. In the foothills of the Himalayas stands the hill station of Simla, where every summer the British gather to escape the heat of the Delhi plains.

Created by Paul Rutman and starring Julie Walters, Henry Lloyd-Hughes, Jemima West and Nikesh Patel, Indian Summers is a two series drama of 10 episodes each produced for Channel 4 and WGBH.

Series 1:

It’s 1932 and the British are retreating to the Simla Hill Station for the summer months. At the Royal Simla Club, Cynthia reigns supreme as the society queen, but the world around her is slowly changing. The first series reveals a tangled web of politics, passions and rivalries that define the lives of those brought together in the shadow of the mountains as India moves ever closer to independence.

Series 2:

Three years on and we return to Simla in the summer of 1935 where life continues to be as fun and debauched as ever, but Alice and Aafrin’s affair is threatened by the combination of the re-appearance of Alice’s violent ex-husband and Aafrin’s involvement with the Congress rebels.

At the club, Cynthia still reigns supreme but even she cannot deny that it is becoming ever more apparent that British rule is fading in the sub-continent.

The Viceroy is in his final few months in the role and Ralph Whelan has been tipped for the top job, but the violent arm of Congress is determined to achieve Indian independence, whatever the cost.

More Programmes by New Pictures